Come on Prices..........

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dewos, Feb 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dewos

dewos LawnSite Member

OK now everyone on here seems to think if you don't charge 35 dollars for a cut for the size of a 1/4 acre ur "lowballing". Ok i am sorry to say that is just bull **** none the less. I have been cutting for about 5 years I'm no expert and not a huge professional. Although your telling these 14 year old kids to charge 35 dollars are you kidding? I cut when I was little and I was lucky if I got 25 for a 1/4 acre. Now if your a professional and you can make money by charging 35 dollars the why wouldn't you but don't be telling these people that are just starting that will be making mistakes putting ruts in yards and so on, to be charging 35 dollars. It just wont happen they wont succeed and I tend to feel that alot of you don't want them to succeed. Buy the top of the line **** and charge the most so you will last about a week. Just not realistic. I started with a resid. John Deere 300 and a ryobi 100 plus a broom. and made a profit of 4000 dollars. Everyone starts somewhere and give them advice let them build up there costs as they get better. No ones going to pay a 14 year old kid starting 35 dollars sorry for their little lawn. My advice is if you really want to make it big go Walmart, sell quantity. you mite not be making as much profit per lawn but in the long run I bet you end up making more then someone that is.

Ohh workers comp doesn't apply if you don't have workers, People say in posts "how do you charge so small with workers comp." Well easy when you work by yourself, or bring someone in the business as a 10% owner.