1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

commercial bid how to

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MImowerkid, Aug 17, 2004.

1. MImowerkid

MImowerkid LawnSite Member

I am new to the whole bidding concept for commercial accounts I know their has been over 3000 posts on bidding but is there one that tells just the basics like 1 square foot =x amount plus x cents per tree so on and so on and if there is could you lead me in the right direction , or is there anyone who is wiling to give away some basics from the industry especially if you are in the Michigan area . thank you in advance :)
  2. Trevors Lawn Care

Trevors Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

what part of michigan are you from?

3. MImowerkid

MImowerkid LawnSite Member

I am in Novi bout 45 min to an hour away from you
  4. Smithers

Smithers LawnSite Silver Member

I was wondering that myself.....

How do you bid on commercial accounts? It is so much different than residential since the sizes (shape) of mowing areas differ extensively.

Any suggestions?
  5. Mr. C

Mr. C LawnSite Member
    from Miami

I would say that you need to do the following:
    1. Walk the property with the prospect first - find what are their concerns.
    2. Take notes
    3. Take your measuring wheel and measure every item that will be included in the service. Mowing, edging, hedge, trim Ect. You should have some type of idea of how long it takes each task under normal circumstances.
    4. Figure out how many bilable man hours it will take to complete the service plus travel time.
    5. Multiple that by your hourly rates.
    6. List all services you will provide, number of service date and the total cost in your contract.

That's about it although there are a few items i may have left out. I would like to hear what anyone else has to add.