Commercial contracts are a trip !

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by topsites, Apr 16, 2006.

1. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

This is my first year with a commercial contract and I'm still adjusting to the strangeness of it all because it's enough money on one hand, not enough on the other...

Hate to mention the dollar amount for fear my customer might actually see this, but I suppose if I leave out identifying information that should be ok... Anyway to make the point, I get paid 570 a month for 10 months.

Based on an hourly scheme, it appears I lose out hard:
    It takes 3-4 hours a day, one day a week, so four times a month to keep the place looking half-way decent. On an hourly basis, we're looking at 3.5 hours x 4.3 (cauz 31 days / month there are 3 extra weeks in 10 months) so it's roughly 15 hours a month at 570 = 38 dollars / hour ... hmmmm....

But if I base it on the contract's scheme per se:
    Assume I had 6 contracts identical to this one (just for argument's sake):
    I'd work 6 days a week, one day for each contract, 4 hours a day with maintenance and travel time I'd be looking at 6 hour days, roughly.
    Take the 570 x 10 months = 5700 x 6 contracts = 34.2 k /year
    That 34.2k is a record, the most I've ever grossed is 31k and this 34.2k means working what, 36 hours / week for 10 months?
    Now even thou it's year-round, I'd trade sustained short days for the spring rush / summer lull without much further thought.

This doesn't take into account cost of supplies but neither does the 31k, it would make this figuring way too confusing right now.

I'm still adjusting to this lol, but it really does appear that even thou contracts appear to be a losing proposition from the per hour standpoint, over the long run they are acceptable and to a fair degree profitable.

After 4 years in the field I can't see an apparent loss in my face but it does linger around the edges as a reminder...