Commercial Jobs and Isurance, Taxes

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Birddog Lawncare, Jan 23, 2004.

1. Birddog Lawncare

Birddog Lawncare LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

I am new to the business this year and already have my insurance lined up and my equipment purchased. I'm hoping to line up about 3-5 commercial accounts. Can you get by with out paying taxes? Will businesses write a check to your name or even pay in cash? I'm only hoping to have 10 accounts maximum with at least half of them being residential.

2. WeatherMan

WeatherMan LawnSite Senior Member

First Welcome to Lawnsite.com Second Why dont you want to pay taxes?. I dont think any commercial clients will look kindly on you if you tell them they have to pay in cash so you dont have to pay taxes. Most companys write off that cost, so if you dont pay taxes old uncle Sam will pay you a vist.

3. Birddog Lawncare

Birddog Lawncare LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

Thanks for the response Weatherman

It just looks like by the time you pay for insurance, taxes, a CPA and equipment costs it looks like it's going to be awful hard to make a profit when your giving 1/3 of it back to uncle sam when I only plan on having 10 accounts when I would be happy to gross $10,000 this summer.

4. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member

not to sound like a smart a$$,
    but welcome to the real world.

You are at a point in your life where you can learn to do it right, or learn to scam. With the latter, you will eventually get caught. Who know's when, but you will, and you will only have yourself to blame.

On a serious note though, paying taxes is the just and fair thing to do. Why should every other hard working person out there have to pay taxes, and just because you don't want to, you can choose not to?

Not trying to come down on you, just want to lay out the truth.

I am currently grossing less than you, and I sure am paying taxes.