1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

commercial line trimmers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Kilman's, Jul 10, 2008.

1. Kilman's

Kilman's LawnSite Member

i have been using shindawai for around 7 years but they seem to get heavier every year, i am looking for something as good, but somewhat lighter, redmax tanaka, echo, whats the best and lightest, thanks
  2. PLS-Tx

PLS-Tx LawnSite Silver Member
    from Texas

I have always liked shindy, been using them for 15 yrs or more I guess. I haven't noticed them getting heavier, but I have noticed them not running as good.

I still have 260 & 270, they are great, but the new 231, 261, 272 forget it.

I have a stihl 110 edger and 3 br600's, and they are great, so looks like the next trimmers will be stihl.

I think I will start my own thread, which stihl trimmer is comparable to a shindy 260 and 270.

I do like to stay with one brand, makes things easier. I just wish stihl dindn't have those silly gas caps.
  3. lawnboy dan

lawnboy dan LawnSite Gold Member

i buy husky now-light and powerfull-trouble free 4 years now
  4. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

Thats because of all the new emmison crap. My 261 is somewhat heavy but the power and performance has been great!
  5. redmax fan

redmax fan LawnSite Bronze Member

did you try removing the spark arrestors / screen from the muffler opening ?
    i run redmax whippers and until i removed the arrestors theyd get bogged down in like 2 weeks , after removing arrestors theyre alot better . and they say if you keep the arrestors in youve got to regularly clean them for bbetter performance .

but the old redmax before the new strato charged / spark arrested series ran great .
  6. paull

paull LawnSite Member