Commercial Maintenance Bid Check

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by W.L.S.27, Jan 30, 2007.

1. W.L.S.27

W.L.S.27 LawnSite Member

I recently spoke to several people on the administration at my high school about maintaining the school grounds. I wanted to check my price with you guys before putting in my final bid. Now, this is my first time bidding a large commercial contract, so go easy on me. Now for the details
    1. 20 acre property in the middle of an industrial park.
    2. Total of about 15 acres of grass, including about 1/4 acre of landscaped areas.
    3. Mowing, 2x Monthly
    4. Trimming 2x Monthly within 100ft of the building, 1x monthly anything over 100ft from the building.
    5. Sidewalk edging (about 800 ft. of sidewalks to be edged) 1x monthly
    6. Clearing debris from 2.75 acres of parking lots
    7. Hedge & Shrub maintenance 1x every 4 months

Will take a 3 man crew a full 8 hr. day per visit.
    I was thinking somewhere in the $650.00 per visit range.... thats $200.00 in labor, $20.00 worth of gas & equip. maint. and $430.00 profit. Too low??? not sure. Let me know. Thanks

-Chris

2. topdog

topdog LawnSite Member
    from indiana

how bad is the trimming there?

i just put a bid in for 30 acre school, and went and looked at a 55 acre school today.

3. W.L.S.27

W.L.S.27 LawnSite Member

Not too bad as far as trimming goes, it'll take a guy about 2.5-3 hrs. to do all of it. Just around the 3 acre building, drainage ditches, and a bunch of islands. Most of the trees have tree rings, so not much there.

-Chris

4. topdog

topdog LawnSite Member
    from indiana

don't forget to add in to your profit employee's expenses like work man's comp, unemployment insurance, & etc. business expenses like insurance, equipment loans, maintenance on your equipment, break downs, & etc.

with all that said for 15 acres you would be getting it for around 43 an acre.

one other thing it is odd that a school only wants to be mowed every 2 weeks.