commercial mowers help get business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by clean green, Jul 29, 2002.

1. clean green

clean green LawnSite Member

I have been mowing yards now for about 8 years and still use the normal 21'' walkbehind. I am looking into buying a 36'' encore and maybe getting more business. I have seen many people ask other businesses to mow thier grass while the business was mowing. In my 8 years I have only had about 4 people ask me to cut thier grass when they saw me mowing. Will a commercial mower like an encore get me more business because customers only ask the "professional" cutters to mow thier grass? This guy up the street now has about 5 yards just from people asking him to mow for them. He charges $35 and I charge just $25. Why won't they ask me? Is it my 21" mower?

2. DLS1

DLS1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Let me get this straight. Your profile says you are 16 years old and you have been mowing 8 years. So you started mowing at 8 years old. Your a real go getter. How many years have you been getting paid for mowing and don't including your parents?

3. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN