Commercial "Niche" Market

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jimbo, Feb 19, 2002.

1. Jimbo

Jimbo LawnSite Bronze Member

In my state there seems to be a large number of "for sale" commercial lots that are overgrown with vegetation. I always thought that this would be a great market to get into, because most of the large lawn companys specialize in Landscaping, and pass up this type of rough cutting.

I can cut grass but I am not the green thumb when it comes to flower beds and the like. I prefer to do hand held trimming and brush cutting jobs that others pass by.

Does anyone have experience with this type of market? Do you really see a market in other regions? Generally the commercial properties are sold by real estate companies and I am not sure how best to market for their business. I am just starting out so any help would be appreciated.

2. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

hi jimbo. it would seem to me that u could do what u are thinking about. because ,not many do it. the developers wait until they have contract to build. then usually pay the construction company as part of a building bid. what u would have to do is
    put your name out there for this type work.flyers phone calls etc.
    the bottum line is if u can do it cheaper and better than their any case itll probably take time to build an name for youself.if this is going to be your specialty . id think about mabe a bush hog, as they can usually stay busy, also tree wk.
    good luck an later now.
  3. southside

southside LawnSite Senior Member

I agree with AWM. I've been slashing (bush hogging) for 6 years
    now,and thats the sort of gear you need to get. Good 4WD tractor around the 45-50hp mark with a 5' slasher on the back
    would serve you quite nicely. Anything bigger and you start
    having problems on smaller blocks. Tractor/slasher around that
    size goes for around $45-$50 per hour over here.
    You'll also need a brushcutter with some balls. Try the Shindaiwa