Commercial Property Mowing Estimate Help?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by E-lawns, Jun 1, 2011.

1. E-lawns

E-lawns LawnSite Member

I will be submitting a bid for mowing a commercial property, which the area is approximately 26,000 sqft. It will take about 2hrs to complete the job (mow, blow, and edge). This will be my first commercial bid, and I am trying to figure out how I should base my rate.

My question is: Should I base the rate on residential sqft. pricing, ie. $36 per 5000 sqft of turf? Knowing my low overhead, what formula should be used to generate the pricing and equipment paid for. Your help is greatly appreciated, as I am new to the business, and respect your seasoned knowledge.

Thanks

2. starry night

starry night LawnSite Silver Member

Does your overhead and operating costs change if you are on a commercial vs. a residential lawn?

If you have calculated your rate properly , then there is no reason
    why the two would be any different. JMO

3. E-lawns

E-lawns LawnSite Member

With my equipment paid for, the highest overhead cost are man hours and insurance. Insurance is constant and manhours varies. Based from your response, I guess I am headed in the right direction. Just want to make sure I am not cutting myself and the business short. thanks Dirtandhoops

4. starry night

On the other hand, it is cheaper to do one location at 26,000 sq ft than it is to travel to four different locations to do the same amount. And is this commercial location more open and obstacle free than your typical residentials or is it more difficult?

5. E-lawns

E-lawns LawnSite Member