Commercial vs residential ZTR's

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by green-pa, May 21, 2007.

1. green-pa

green-pa LawnSite Senior Member

THis is my first year and I have very limited financial resources left as I've now got a truck payment, insurance, lowes account, and all my other bills. I only have a 21" now, but would love to have a ztr for my larger home without gates and so forth. I would also like to have one to allow me to get into larger yards that I wouldn't consider with the small 21. How long ( if maintained well ) should I expect a residential ztr to last vs a commercial? I figure if I at least get 2-3 years out of one, that would be more than enough, to allow me the time to afford a better unit. Any of u guys start off with home owner units?

2. Military Lawns

Military Lawns LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

If you are going commercial, use commercial equipment. Taking short cuts will cost you in the short run. Now, you can always source some very good used equipment. There are a lot of good used walk-behinds that are just as capable as ZTR's.

MLL-

3. green-pa

Where would I find a good used wb? Most of the dealers I've called don't have any. They only have new ones and most are $2,500+. I'm looking for something used for under $1,500.

4. LAZERLAWS

LAZERLAWS LawnSite Member

Try EquipmentTrader.Com

5. green-pa