commercial vs residential

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by coonman, Nov 27, 2002.

1. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member

It seems to me that most of the people out here go for the large commercial accounts. I have no experience with those, we have a few small commercial that are friends or customers brothers etc. But the bulk of our business is residentials. Average lawn for us is 30 dollars for 15 min work. We do have many areas clumped with 7-10 house within walking distance of each other. Some advantages I see with residentials are....

word of mouth advertising from our customers

99.9% loyalty ( we only seem to lose them if they die or move)

perks such as pies and cakes and Christmas bonuses

lower overhead because larger expensive equipment is not needed

I would appreciate some input from the large commercial guys on some advantages with those properties.

thanks

2. SpudsM15

SpudsM15 LawnSite Senior Member

As of right now i only have residential customers. Can someone give some insight on how to price the big commercials.

3. MN Wildwood

MN Wildwood LawnSite Member

I have more residential than commercial, but I do find it to be beneficial to have some of my commercial, not only because as a buisness I have not needed to worry about being paid, but on occation employees of the business have asked me to mow their own yards. It depends on what equipment you have and are willing to have & repair- the more you have, the more problems you can have, likewise the bigger your equipment the more you pay for it.

4. grass chaser

grass chaser LawnSite Member

I agree that residential customers are loyal and will only let you go if you screw up. It is good to have a few commercial customers to help pay the bills. They pay on a regular cycle and you can always count on them in the winter months.

5. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

Great question Coonman,