compare ztr's

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Bare30, Jul 29, 2007.

1. Bare30

Bare30 LawnSite Member

I have been mowing a clinic in the town where I live for the past 10 years, recently I was approached by hospital director to take on the clinic and hospital about 20 minutes down the road. It is a large facility and I,m pretty sure I underbid it, but they pay me the same amount year-round. That being said I need a commercial mower. I have used a Craftsman 42" and finishing up until now. My brother in law has an Exmark lazerz Hp 48",19 Horse Kaw,and my buddy uses a Scag cub 48" 24 Horse Briggs, They both love there mowers but I need more opinions before $6000 is gone and wish I had the other one. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!! I am new to this site, not new to lawn care.

2. CuttersEdgeks

CuttersEdgeks LawnSite Member

people mainly use Dixon, Walker and Dixie chopper around here. I have e dixon and will be getting a chopper for more speed.

3. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

Hello, yet another Hutchinson person on here! As for the "top mowers" I see here it's Walker, Dixon, Grasshopper, and then all the rest. Not saying that thats what's the best, just the top 3 used in this area.

As for pickig a mower for yourself. Demo Demo Demo. Find a good dealer that is close to you and that offers good service, Then see what brands he sells. IMO, many of the better commercial mowers on the market will all work but it's up to you to know what things you like and dislike about each one. Also, what works great for some people may not work well for others...

4. Kid With A Mower

Kid With A Mower LawnSite Member

Welcome to the site bare30. There all good mowers, it up to you're personal preference. However my personal recommendation would be Exmark wb's and Scag riders. I would look at the Scag tiger cub, they go for around $6000. Also look at Wright mowers.

5. DillonsLawnCare

DillonsLawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member