"compost Tea"

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by Daner, Nov 5, 2007.

1. Daner

Daner LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey all:) Lets blend some tea

What do we need to make this amazing stuff ,that's so good for our lawns?

I My self, have made manure tea, just by adding horse manure to water and "leaving It to brew"

I would like to here your thoughts on brewing teas...from basic...like I have done In the past to the more sophisticated brews.:)
    Thanks for your Input.
  2. Gerry Miller

Gerry Miller LawnSite Senior Member

3. Daner

4. Gerry Miller

Hi Daner;

Yes, I've been making my own AACT for about 3 years now. I started out using the home made system called the 'Deuley's Little Texas Tea Brewer' that can be found at http://dchall.home.texas.net/organic/teamaker/

One of the things that very important is the clean up after your brewing cycle to be sure to remove any build up of biofilm that can ruin any future brews. Using the Deuley's system was a real pain in the clean up area. While it was relatively cheap to build and it would produce OK tea, the clean up made me look for another system. Then after doing a lot of research, I purchased the KIS brewing system:

Since it's critical to know if your system is producing the aerobic soil organisms you want to apply to your plants, testing is a necessary part of the process, even though it can be expensive. Not only does your compost need to be tested, your tea needs to be tested as well to make sure your system and you are following correct protocol. That was one of the huge benefits of using the KIS brewing system is that they have tested for you, the system as well as the compost and food kits to provide high level of organisms you need. Takes all the testing out of the question. My brewing time would be between 18 and 24 hours and then applied immediately.