Contracts

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Mack77, May 31, 2005.

1. Mack77

Mack77 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

Hey guys...

I've been mowing for a few years now, and with all my customers i have verbal agreements. Basically stating that I will be cutting their lawns on this specific day for this set amount of money.

This method has been working just fine for me because i am still a very small, solo operation. I also communicate with each and every customer well, and they do not have any problems. However I see many people talking about 'contracts'. This looks like a better way to avoid confusion with your customers.

I'm curious, what do you include in your contract? Is anyone willing to post one of theirs for an example?

Thanks in advance!

2. BrunswickMowing

BrunswickMowing LawnSite Member

How and on what schedule do you collect payment, Mack?

3. Mack77

Mack77 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I cut weekly, there is no set billing schedule. I tell customers that I send out an invoice after approx. 4 lawn cuts.

4. BrunswickMowing

So you just get their name and address at the first mowing and then send an invoice and wait for a check to come to you by mail? So with no contract, do you have them write down their name and address or do you ask them and write it down yourself? Have you ever had a problem collecting?

5. Mack77

Mack77 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I started pursuing lawn maintenance seriously two years ago, passed out flyers within a ten minute distance from my home. I got a handful of hits back, the type of work i was looking for was grass cutting, but the majority was weeding, mulch...the tedious stuff people simply don't want to do. Now, i have a handful of grass cutting jobs, not many but it keeps me busy. I just recently purchaced my first ZTR, and i love it!