Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by GroundControlLawnCare, Oct 29, 2006.

1. GroundControlLawnCare

GroundControlLawnCare LawnSite Member

Im just starting out and had a few to ask ya,ll.Istill have my full time job and i do lawn care on weekends. Do you make your customers sign a contract and pay up front right then, or after the first month is completed.
  2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

For residentials,... for 25 years, we have never used a contract for lawn maintenance (mowing and such). Now, for lawn CARE, we are required by law here in Michigan to have a service agreement with all customers. The reason being, is that we have to have hardcopy of their signature stating that have read and accepted the terms in agreement that they have read a form we have that is the risk/benefit information pertaining to the use of pesticides on their property(s). On commercials, ....yes...we do have a service agreement for all work.
    By the way....nice name! :laugh:
  3. GroundControlLawnCare

thanks alot but do you have them pay before or after work is completed for the month? mine are yearly contracts split up in 12 payments for so many cuts a year.
  4. Horsepower Lawns

Horsepower Lawns LawnSite Member

I don't use contracts. All but one of my customers pay at time of service or mail it to me once a month. Either is fine with me.

I have 1 customer that owes me $30 for the last mowing I did for them about 2 months ago. IF I mow for them next year they will pay BEFORE I mow. They were a slow pay & the yard also had dog sh1t in it anyway, so if i lose them its fine with me.
  5. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member