Correct/Successful way to land a Commercial Account?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by SSmith, Nov 29, 2004.

1. SSmith

SSmith Banned

How do you go about properly identifying, approaching, and closing a commercial account?? There are so many solicitors out there these days that I imaginge you need to set yourself apart from all the riff-raff to even get your foot in the door. What do you guys do that has been successful? Thanks.

2. SSmith

SSmith Banned

No replies to this yet???

3. jccordes2

jccordes2 LawnSite Member

I'm not an expert in this area, but what i've learned from this website and what I plan to do this next spring is:

Send out a formal introduction letter, including hightlights such as, Insured, professional, dependable, affordable, quality and etc......

Follow up with a phone call to the propery manager, ask when and how you can submit a bid, and what it would take to earn there business. introduce the services you can offer/what they need.
    maybe ask the likes and dislike of there current/former LCO's

after sending bid, follow up again with: "what will it take to earn there business" (with out dropping your prices to rock bottom)

I've been researching a lot of company's I would like to bid on next spring. I have a list of addresses, and a list of who makes the grounds keeping decisions finacially, (who can decide on what bid to accept).
    once spring comes, let the letters/phones calls begin.

I think the key in this business aside from a good quality cut is the ability to sell your services and your self/company.

after all, we are in sales aren't we??

4. SSmith

SSmith Banned

I also have a letter drafted and ready to be mailed out. I have the addresses of the businesses I want to go after but I do not have th ename of the person in charge. I guess I'll have to call them up and get that info. so the letter can be addressed to that person. Thanks for mentioning that.

5. jccordes2

jccordes2 LawnSite Member