Cost vs. benefit on truck loader

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnprosteveo, Nov 1, 2004.

1. lawnprosteveo

lawnprosteveo LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

I am trying to make a decision on whether or not to buy a leaf loader. I can get a new billy goat truck loader (the middle sized one) for about $2500.

Currently I have ten of my 50 accounts wanting bi-monthly leaf cleanup. These are standard residential sized yards and I charge $50 per hour (me and a helper).

This is my second job...I'm a firefighter, on 24 and off 48...so I dont really like the idea of blowing all that money on something that I only anticipate using 2 to 3 months per year.

Also considered putting a mulch kit on my 36" Toro wb and just mulch the leaves.

Any opinions on this would be greatly helpful... :dizzy: :help:

2. dfor

dfor LawnSite Senior Member

What is the hp of the leaf loader. I have a Billy Goat 16 hp, and wouldn't want any less hp. They save a lot of time loading, and they shred the leaves so that you can fit probably 3 times as much in the truck (if not more)
    Also, at least in my area, $50 is not enough for 2 men per hour.

3. myoder

myoder LawnSite Member

Highly recommend a leaf loader... definately worth it.

If the $2500 is too much for right now, look into used ones... I picked one up in the spring for $1000.

4. brentsawyer

brentsawyer LawnSite Senior Member

Really depends on the truck that you'll be using. I started out my first year with a leaf loader, Lesco 16hp on a F-150 w/ 8' full size bed. I built the sides up tall enough to walk in with out ducking and I go go almost a day without dumping it. The next year I bought a F-350 w/12' flatbed. Last year I had 5' sides not nearly enough. This year I am going w/ 8' sides over 300yds capacity, hopefully that should do it. Looking back though, the F-150 was necessary at the time but not profitable

5. SpudsM15

SpudsM15 LawnSite Senior Member