costs rising- are YOUR PRICES rising?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by hobbsd, Mar 16, 2008.

1. hobbsd

hobbsd LawnSite Senior Member
    from west wi

With fertilizer and fuel prices going through the roof, prices for our service SHOULD be going up.

What are people doing to their prices? I'm afraid to raise if my competitors don't. I don't want to lose my business because of competetion staying cheap...

What are you doing?

Are fuel surcharges an option?

I think we could probably all benifit if there was a mutual rising of prices/.

What are your thoughts?

2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

hobbsd

Each Market area is different as each Businessman is also different. I am a semi retired operator and only work part time. Yes my margin is going down as are my competitors. At present time I am lucky enough to network with a Mower guy who is sending me enough business to make up the margin. I am now working more and making less per job, but the same bottom line. My competitors are not raising their prices and I am already higher priced. Given the Economy and the bad forecast that things are going to get worse before getting better. I am staying with my old prices and eating the lower margin. I am happy to have work at this point since many of my friends don't have steady work. BTW I feel in my market, the service industry will hold up because we are a retirement community. However I think the America economic hay day is over and I blame it on Globalization.

Your market area I am sure is different. You must do what you feel is best. But Don't ask others to follow because each have their own cross to bare.

3. boats47

boats47 LawnSite Member