Could use some advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Turf Luck, Mar 16, 2005.

1. Turf Luck

Turf Luck LawnSite Member

I'm just getting started in the business, bought my equipment today as a matter of fact, and I could use some advice on a couple of things. First of all, I'm wondering if I should shell out the $2,200 for a bagging system now for my SCAG Tiger Cub or will I be able to get any business with the Hurricane mulching system already in place. I definitely plan on getting the bagging system this fall to bag leaves. Secondly, I was wondering if I need to get written contracts for all residential jobs. I've heard from a friend in the business that this scares customers away when you come at them with a year contract, but if your work is good, they will keep using you (verbal agreement). Also, any other advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Toy2

Toy2 LawnSite Bronze Member

Not sure on your equipment, someone will answer your post, as far as the contracts I found that customers in my area shy away from having to sign anything that has to do with lawn care, so I am just using verbal methods, I have not been don't this very long, but had to add my 2 cents!! :)

3. theturfsurfer

theturfsurfer LawnSite Member
    from mtka,MN

I have always used a contract only I label it an agreement. I explain to my customers that it explains everything that is included and the price for a specific service, it prevents any misunderstandings down the road. It also explains my policies on late payments and terms for payment.

4. Turf Luck

Turf Luck LawnSite Member

Anybody else?

5. marko

marko LawnSite Senior Member