Courses of Study

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rhalverson, Mar 13, 2007.

1. rhalverson

rhalverson LawnSite Member

I live in SE Wisconsin and am planning on starting up a lawn care business. I currently have a "day job" so I don't need to rush, (though I hate my day job so the sooner the better.) Anyway, I want to do it right. What's a good course of study to take up in turfgrass management and what's a respected online school.

My plan is to be ready to "hit the ground running" next spring even if I'm still studying. That will give me a year to prepare, (doing market studies, acquiring equipment, setting up a business entity, preparing advertising, etc.)

Also, I would really like to strike up a conversation with one or more practicing lawn care professionals out there. I have the opportunity to plan this out properly and my question would be, "If you had the time to plan this business out from scratch, what would you do?" I know there are a thousand pamphlets and "courses" and franchise "opportunities" out there regarding how to do this, but they all want to sell me something so, naturally, I don't trust their agenda.

Any input from a seasoned "pro" on any of these topics, or any other, would be greatly appreciated.

Rick

2. John's Lawns

John's Lawns LawnSite Member

I would probably start out with some good books such as Turfgrass Management by Al Turgeon or How to Start a Home-based Landscaping Business by Owen Dell. I'm not sure about online schools, maybe someone else can provide some info.

3. rhalverson

Hey, thanks for the tip. My local library has Owen Dell's book so I'll start there.
    Rick

4. CkLandscapingOrlando

CkLandscapingOrlando LawnSite Senior Member