Crabgrass preventer vs mow lawn

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by bartjr, Mar 27, 2012.

1. bartjr

bartjr LawnSite Member

Hi all,

Newbie here, I am from NY and there is a new laws that i can't spread crabgrass preventer until April 1st. After i spread crabgrass preventer (scott step #1) how long do i have to wait until i mow my lawn?

Also scott step #1 any good for crabgrass preventer?

Thanks,

Tom

2. DA Quality Lawn & YS

DA Quality Lawn & YS LawnSite Fanatic

Well, you could mow your lawn and spread right after you mow.

But if you really have to throw fert/pre down b/f you mow, go for it you won't cause any issues.

3. lawns Etc

lawns Etc LawnSite Silver Member

The Scotts Halts is basic Pre M it works very very good but usually wears off by late July on its prevention. If Scotts is a must re apply the same one in 6 weeks and youll be good.

4. turf hokie

turf hokie LawnSite Silver Member

The law does NOT restrict the use of the pre-emergent, it restricts the application of fertilizer from April 1 to December 1. It also restricts the use of P without a soil test.

5. bartjr

bartjr LawnSite Member

@turf hokie; so i can spread it now? using Scott step #1? the local store manager said i have to wait after April 1st. He said the law effect because the government don't want the snow and the seeds melting together and could cause poison in the water...something like that :)

If i spread it now. How long do i have to wait to mow the lawn? 1 week or 2 weeks?.

Thanks

6. Smallaxe

Smallaxe LawnSite Fanatic

If people actually understood proper cultural practices, the difference between NPK and root inhibitor, professional and lawnboy, these type of problems wouldn't be 'solved' by the gov't!?!?!!

Don't get too excited, I don't think your CG is going to germinate b4 Saturday...

7. ChiTownAmateur

ChiTownAmateur LawnSite Senior Member