Crash course on trailers?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Vibe Ray, Jun 20, 2002.

1. Vibe Ray

Vibe Ray LawnSite Senior Member

Hey guys...I am thinking about going the truck and trailer route. I have been using a Chevy cargo van up until now. I have no real experience w/ trailers and have no idea wahat to get. I have heard many terms here on lawnsite about trailers, but I don't know exactly what they mean. What are all the things to look for in a trailer? How much do I spend for this or that one. I am a one man show for now and will probably stay that way for a little while, but will eventually hire help. Basically I need a crash course on trailers. What are all the possible widths and lengths? For now I will go with an open trailer, not enclosed. Does it become very difficult to maneuver after a certain size and what are the best trucks to tow with? Anything else I can think of later I will post later.

Thanx

2. SIG

SIG LawnSite Member

Are you planning on getting a Z mower? I would suggest 6'x 16' with a mesh gate. I would not go smaller than 16' long. I pull my trailer with a 1999 F-350. By the way i love that truck!!! You should be able to get that trailer for less than $2000.00.

3. HarryD

HarryD LawnSite Bronze Member

depends do you have a place you can store it or park it . i have a garage i put mine in so i can leave all my equipment on it.
    even though ya only have one walk behind i would get a 16 footer if ya have the space to put it

4. Vibe Ray

My primary equipment is listed in my signature as well as many other odds and ends things I have will go in it.