Critique My Contract

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Smithers, Jan 2, 2005.

1. Smithers

Smithers LawnSite Silver Member

Please critique my contract. You can copy it (or portions of it) but please leave a comment or a question if you do so..

Let me know if i have missed anything.
  2. Braxton

Braxton LawnSite Member
    from TN

Let me hedge this by saying up front that I have no experience in the Green Industry; I hope to startup my company at the start of this season, so take what I say with that in mind. That said, here's my 2 cents. I did take a look at the contract, and a lot of it looks good to me. However, I didn't see anything that describes what is included with many of the services you offer. I'd at least spell out what is included in a weekly lawn service, just to avoid future problems. You might consider a separate agreement detail sheet for each service to be signed along with the work order.

One other thing, and it may be a nitpicking thing, but it might be important, I don't know. I took a real estate course a while back, and if I remember correctly, for a contract to be valid, it has to be prepared by an attorney. That may be incorrect, but I think that's right. You might check into it, or you might consider just calling it a "service agreement," or you might choose to disregard what I have to say altogether. :) Just some things to consider, and as I said, my two cents. Hope it helps.

Good luck w/it.

3. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

Looks good. Short, sweet, and to the point.

4. Smithers

well, that's just great....55 people viewed it and only two comments, which i greatly appreciate.

Braxton, thank you for your feedback. The "Notes" area was left to describe the job that i will be doing with handwritten description for each individual case. So, i did not think that i have to tell them what i will be doing if they get the weekly mowing service.