Critique this drystack wall

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by columbiaplower, Apr 21, 2008.

1. columbiaplower

columbiaplower LawnSite Senior Member

Tell me what you think of this wall, how does it look? How can it be better? sorry about the camera phone pics.

2. MRBsx2

MRBsx2 LawnSite Member

I am gonna give you my honest opinion dont be mad, the wall could be a lot better its rough. i dont know if its your first wall or not but stone work is not for everybody its a art its a skill and its a talent that is very hard to just pick up ive been doing stone masonry for 8 years and learned from the best in my area there is a lot to know and learn before you can make a drystack fieldstone wall look good.. Heres a job i did back in March

2008 work 022.jpg
  3. JimmyStew

JimmyStew LawnSite Senior Member

MRBsx2, that is an awesome wall! As for your wall Columbia, I see a few problems with yours. The first is structural. That wall does not really look sturdy enough to remain standing for to many years. The wall should be wider. Maybe it is under the loam, I cant really tell. Also, the stones do not seem to fit close enough to give much stability. The stone that you used is fairly linear so the face of the wall should be much smoother. The way you have it built, it is jarring to the eye. Like MRB said, stone work isn't something that everyone can do, but it is something that you can learn with a lot of practice, so keep going.
  4. columbiaplower

columbiaplower LawnSite Senior Member