Cross tie retaining wall labor pricing

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by HPLawns, Feb 5, 2007.

1. HPLawns

HPLawns LawnSite Member

I am relatively new to the industry and have a client wanting a retaining wall made from railroad cross ties. I was hoping someone could shed some light on how I should estimate this job. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

2. D Felix

D Felix LawnSite Bronze Member

Welcome to LS, I see that was your first post.

If you don't know enough to know that RR ties are NOT appropriate for retaining walls, then you probably shouldn't be giving the estimate... RR ties will NOT hold up to the job. You can gain a few years with treated 6x6's, and the cost difference will really be minor. What you save with the ties, you will loose with labor and cutting equipment.

Personally, I think they need to look at a SRW if they want to have something that looks decent and will last.

3. HPLawns

HPLawns LawnSite Member

I understand exactly what you are saying, this client already has the materials as he had planned on performaing this on his own. Retaining wall might be a bit of a stretch. This is only meant to be a seperation from his neighbors property and to divert a small amount of drainage. I suggested doing something differently, but he insists on the ties. Thanks for your reply.

4. D Felix

Just 'cause it's free doesn't mean that's what you should use!!

It's been soooooo long since I've done any kind of timber wall, I'm afraid I'd be no help in estimating hours, though they will go faster than a SRW...

5. HPLawns

HPLawns LawnSite Member