CTL's are the Devil: Fact or Myth?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by stuvecorp, Jan 1, 2010.

1. stuvecorp

stuvecorp LawnSite Fanatic

I have limited experience on the costs or problems of CTL's and so far my experience with the MTL(RC30) and VTS has been good. So what is the truth with the CTL's? The resale is horrendous, is that fair? I complain about the ride but with a more forgiving track and if ride control was an option, would it be 'good enough'? I'm curious to hear from guys that have more hours with them and some viewpoints from the sales guys.

2. curtisfarmer

curtisfarmer LawnSite Senior Member

I posted this on the current T300 track thread:

I am still amazed at how much tracked machines cost to run.....new tracks at 1,00o hrs. I hear horror stories that include new sprockets, rollers, and other stuff adding up huge. I run 2 Kubota L48s (TLB) and a KX121-3 and always argue (friendly) with friends in MA who run Bobcats as to what is better. They work in tighter situations but nothing my machines cannot do. When told of $8-9+K in track/ UC repairs, the discussion gets animated. My operating costs are less than 1/2 of a tracked machine with = performance. Granted there are some areas each type of machine is better, but overall I am amazed at how many people run tracked machines for applications where another machine would be better and cheaper. I love my Kubota TLBs, very versatile. I will usually bring the KX121-3 and a L48 to a job site and have everything covered. Looking forward to Kubotas CTL even though I will never buy one.

3. AWJ Services

AWJ Services LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Ga

TLB's are wonderful but they are in no way comparable to a CTL when it comes to moving dirt in terms of production.

4. curtisfarmer