1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Curtis Plows- What do you think?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by plowguy06, Jan 12, 2001.

1. plowguy06

plowguy06 LawnSite Member

I am a non-buyer, but I am interested in the various brands and models of plows. Anyway, I recently received a video and brochure from Curtis about their hitch and run plows. I just wanted to know if anyone has one and what they think of them. Thanks
  2. Dusty

Dusty LawnSite Member

I saw the prototype being manufactured at the machine shop outside of Worcester MA and I was impressed with the way it was designed. Don't know if that was the final design, but it was well engineered and built.
  3. dtm

dtm LawnSite Member

I have been using a curtis for three years now and no proplems so far. the plow is heavy-duty and you will need at least a one ton truck. the hook up is as easy as a western.
  4. cat320

cat320 LawnSite Senior Member

I have seen the Curtis plows and always woundered how the hydraulics stay in the fram so low to the ground.For example is it easy to change the fluid,does snow and ice get built up on them.I would love to see that video on them in action.
  5. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

I have them on my New Holland tractos. However no truck mounted curtis plows. The work ok but not the best choice out there. The have some products that they are one of the only companies building.

6. Chuck Smith

Chuck Smith LawnSite Senior Member