1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Customer Conflict

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jdjoe_97, Apr 22, 2001.

1. jdjoe_97

jdjoe_97 LawnSite Member

Here is the situation. I have been mowing this ladies lawn for two years. This year I raised my rates accross the board. She goes to church with me and I heard it about the rate increase. A measly $3 per mow. Well the prob is I showed up last week to mow her lawn. She said "Are you going to mow my lawn already??" "It will just keep growing once you cut it." I thought gee whiz, your 70+ years old and you don't know that your lawn needs cut! Because it really needed it. So she said let it wait. I told her fine, see you next week. She said "Will it be next Wed.?" becuase it was Wed. when I was having this conversation. I told her I had no idea when I would get back.

This happened last season too. I would stop every week, usually in 7 days, or 10 if it was dry. She would do her best to talk me into waiting a few days. So what do I do. I am thinking I should raise her rate to a "2 week rate". My father who is in business with me says he has had it with her. If I am getting $30 now should I just double it, or increase it by 50%. I hate people who constantly thing they are the only yard I am responsible. Joe
  2. cajuncutter

cajuncutter LawnSite Senior Member

usually I will tell the customer if it is going to be every 2 weeks then the price doubles plus 10% for the strain my equipment goes under. Usually they either give in and let me do it every week or they decide they will find someone else that can better suit their needs :D ..in some cases there are those few yards out there that hardly grow due to soil probles and what not..these i will do every 2 weeks...and I never take on 10 day accounts...i just pass those up
  3. John DiMartino