Customer wants cheap lights

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by lawnspecialties, May 17, 2006.

1. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

First off, please don't blast me. This was not my idea.

I am a full-time firefighter with a pretty successful lawn maintenance business. As is so often the case, I have a customer who lives in a half-million dollar home, is as nice as can be, but is just as cheap as they come. He and is family are from China and they have the worst case of "keeping up with the Joneses" I've ever seen.

Well, last week his next door neighbor installed some Lowe's/Home Depot lighting in their front garden area. Basically five or six small lights shining up at the house, mostly the windows. Now, my customer has to have some as well. He knows his neighbor paid just under $200 for the set and really doesn't want to go much more than that, plus what I charge him for the labor.

Finally the question: Should I just go ahead and get the same stuff from Lowe's or is there some other alternative. I look forward to the install and learning a few things, but is there anything better I can get from my suppliers (Lesco, John Deere Landscapes, etc.) but at a similar price. Thanks ya'll :)
  2. NightScenes

NightScenes LawnSite Silver Member

Hello Lawnspecialties,