Customer's Rain Bird System

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by T. Wheeler, May 25, 2006.

1. T. Wheeler

T. Wheeler LawnSite Member

To start I am no irrigation expert at all period.... But I have a customer that has a Rain Bird Rotary System. He says it is shorted out and will not work. That is all he has told me, I haven't tested it or anything. If its just a cut or chewed up wire I can fix that but if its really complicated I won't touch it. Anyone have any clue on what might have shorted out or what might cause it?, and how much to charge and if I need to be licensed?

2. grdhog1

grdhog1 LawnSite Member

There might be a fuse in the control box that is blown.

3. T. Wheeler

Well not to sound stupid but that sounds like a simple fix. Is fuse box near/inside the control unit? And what kinda fuses will it take?

4. Beartooth

Beartooth LawnSite Member

1.5 amp slow-blow, What do you mean by rotory system? Do you mean the controller is mechanical?

5. T. Wheeler

6. T. Wheeler

Soory the 27/37/47 Series Impact Rotor Heads is what it uses

7. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

Those are golf course heads costing hundreds of dollars apiece. The control valves might be similarly 'bulletproof' and not an easy fix. A shorted solenoid is always a starting point for exploration.

8. T. Wheeler

I have no clue what Im talking about.... Sorry for asking so many stupid questions. Here is a picture that I found of his lawn but you can see the head. It is in the lower left corner. Again sorry for ignorance

Rain Bird Head.JPG

9. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

That's a simple impact head. Should have nothing to do with the timer shorting out. Rotary "system" may mean mechanical timer. A lot those don't have a fuse that I know of. Motor may have gone out.

10. T. Wheeler