Customers that like to talk too much.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jackman, Feb 27, 2004.

1. Jackman

Jackman LawnSite Member
    from Zone

Do you have any? How do you handle the talkers? I have this one in particular ( top notch customer I make out good at his place) that I just dread going to his house. He just enjoys talking and its hard to get away from him. I hate to give the cold shoulder or be rude but dang I work for a livin and 15 or 20 minutes of talk wreaks the whole day.

2. crawdad

crawdad LawnSite Bronze Member

Can you change your schedule and go to his house when he's not there?
    Crawdad

3. swim

swim LawnSite Senior Member

I have alot of customers who like to gab when I come over. It is always hard the 1st year, but after that I figure a little extra into the job just for gab. Besides I don't want to be rude, and say got to go. It is good to have that personal touch and helps build customer loyalty. Like you said I work for a living and if it wasn't every time it would be ok. But 30 min can throw off a whole day.

4. dishboy

dishboy LawnSite Platinum Member
    from zone 6

This is what works for me. If I do not want to talk to them I do not shut off the eqiuptment and lift one side of my headset so they have to yell at me to yak....... they get the point real fast.
    If they catch me when I am between tasks I look at my watch and give them maybe two minutes then I tell them I have to finish up because I have to pick up my kids later.

5. PLI1

PLI1 LawnSite Senior Member

I have a couple, great people but a little gabby. I save these for the end of the day and allow a little time to talk, but if they get to long winded I tell them I gotta go because my wifes makin dinner and I gotta be home in 15 minutes or I want to get home before rush hour ect. Works well for me.

6. sgreanbean

sgreanbean LawnSite Member
    from cal