Customers using others for misc. work on your job!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by johnnybravo8802, Mar 8, 2011.

1. johnnybravo8802

johnnybravo8802 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Ga.

I need to get an opinion. I'm starting to run into my long....time customers trying to cut corners and save a dime. While I know it's their property, I'm wondering where the loyalty is?!!!!! Pinestraw for example:There is a group of guys who go around town every year and put out straw for $4.50/bale. I am at $5.50/bale which is the industry standard in my area and has been for 15 yrs!!!! I do a very high quality job and the guys at $4.50/bale do really bad work..the customer isn't saving anything. What gets me is that my customers will overlook that I've been working for them for 12 years and do really quality work(These are customers with some serious money, I'll add). They'll step all over our relationship to save $1!!!!!!:hammerhead:I've even had one customer say that the $4.50 guys look like a bunch of criminals but their cheap.:confused: I don't want others thinking it's my company doing the work, and the sloppy work is on my property!! How do you approach the customer about this? After 12 years, shouldn't you just be able to do the job and send them a bill? What am I missing here? In my opinion, if a job is MY contract, I don't want to see another company anywhere near it!!!!!!!!! Help me out fellas...
  2. Southern Pride

Southern Pride LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Memphis

Well. Are you on a contract to install pine straw for them?

I know what you mean though. New customer of mine (rich guy) has me come do small cleanups, but then hires one company to do a big cleanup and another to install his $2,500 irrigation job. He even told me they quoted higher than me for the SAME work on the irrigation job. I wanted to drop him right then but I just had to hold it in.
  3. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic