Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Robert S, Feb 15, 2007.

1. Robert S

Robert S LawnSite Member
    from tx

whats the best way to get accounts as in commercial accounts.will walking into walmart or mcdonalds and ask to see the manager.? i may have achance to get a buisness loan but i dont have any accounts
  2. lawnpro724

lawnpro724 LawnSite Silver Member

You don't have any accounts?? You don't have any or just not any commercial??
  3. dKoester

dKoester LawnSite Gold Member

You might not want to target Walmart as a poential client. I've heard bad things about pricing and what they pay.
  4. AJZ

AJZ LawnSite Member
    from Tx.

I am just a newbie so the only comment I can make in regards to your question is, "can/will you meet the minimum requirements." I am sure you would have to carry a huge insurance policy to do buiness with them.

As far as commercial accounts, use your existing resources. Do you know anyone who works for a business that outsources their lawn care? Use them to encourage their boss/manager to switch to your company. In most larger companies the head honcho (sp.) probably does not even know who does the lawn work. All you would have to do is save the company some money because after all, it's all about the bottom line in business. I am not saying to do it for 50% less but a 5%-10% savings could go a long way.

Also(not sure if it is legal, more than likely not) you could use an employee to help you gain thier companies account. In return, you could pay them a small amout of money(depending of size of the account) for helping you. This gives them motivation to push the issue.
  5. Robert S

Robert S LawnSite Member
    from tx

no accounts.dont knpw anyone either
  6. Eakern & Dog

Eakern & Dog LawnSite Senior Member

Does Walmart and other big box stores pay for the maintenance or does the owner of the property?
  7. Albery's Lawn & Tractor

Albery's Lawn & Tractor LawnSite Bronze Member