Cutting Crabgrass

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Richard Martin, Aug 16, 2001.

1. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

Does anybody have any tips for cutting crabgrass and obtaining good results in a decent amount of time?

I know the obvious, treat the crabgrass, put down pre-em etc etc but sometimes these are not an option.

I have a few lawns that the crabgrass is going crazy in and it seems to take a while to obtain a decent looking cut.

The crabgrass stays wet all of the time, even in late afternoon.

2. Evan528

Evan528 LawnSite Silver Member

I think double cutting is the only way! We had no rain for about 6 weeks before last weekend..... emediatly after the rain the crabbgrass went nuts! Even Most of the lawns I put dimension on has crabbgrass every where! I know pre- emergent isnt supposed to have a 3 year residual efect but why is it that the lawns i have been treating for 3+ years have absolutly no crabbgrass.... lawns ive only been treating for 1-2 years have crabbgrass every where dispite gettin the same dimension treatment at the same rate as the lawns ive been treating for many years! This would lead me to beleave that in reality the pre- emergent really is building up in the soil from year to year!

3. Richard Martin

Evan528,
    What kind of blades are you using? Does your mower have a tendacy (sp) to drop cow pies of crabgrass?

4. Evan528

Evan528 LawnSite Silver Member

I use high lift blades on all my mowers! All three of my mowers throw glops of crabgrass. Even my toro that will cut soaking wet grass without clumping cant cut grabgrass with out thowing clumps. I think double cutting is the only way around the problem..... there is just so much water content in crabgrass!

5. John DiMartino

John DiMartino LawnSite Silver Member