Cutting height questions, shorter makes lawn grow faster?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by clydesdale, Jul 31, 2005.

1. clydesdale

clydesdale LawnSite Senior Member

In the spring and fall when the lawns are growing like mad, I have a couple of people that want the lawn cut short. But the lawn seems to grow even faster and definitely looks better when i raise the blades. Is it true that cutting the lawn shorter will make it even grow faster? Do lawns slow down in growth as they get longer? Thanks

2. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

Around me, I like to cut them long because it helps keep the weeds out because it shades the ground underneith helping to prevent weed growth. Anyway, I think the lawn does grow back faster when cut short. I dunno exactly why, I am no expert i just observe that happening and cut the lawns long. All my customers understand.

3. stumper1620

stumper1620 LawnSite Bronze Member

I determine mow height, when to raise, when to lower and when to stay the same, I also determine when it will be mowed, my clients accept services from me to manage their lawn care. That means I manage it not them.
    the answer to your post is simple, Short breeds weeds, longer looks lush.
    OOPS, this is response to original poster, no offense intended. sorry mcw.

4. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

What are you appologizing for? I am young, any advice is great, good or bad. I really don't know why you are appologizing for.

5. stumper1620

stumper1620 LawnSite Bronze Member

sorry because normally when you use a quote for a response its addressed to the person that made the quote, my post shouldn't have even been with a quote it was a general comment.

6. Mower For Less

Mower For Less LawnSite Senior Member