Cutting Throats?!?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by IronHorse3136, Feb 28, 2005.

1. IronHorse3136

IronHorse3136 LawnSite Member

I am new to the commercial accounts, but I just got out bid for a Local Housing Authority project by $30,000. The total size is 122 acre over 13 properties and three counties. To get the account, you must include your expenses, equipment, crew size, insurance and workman's comp. to prove you could handle the account. The account had 502 units of which you only cut the vacant units which totaled 30 to 35 units every two weeks for 16 total cuts. You cut all of the common areas every two weeks and the office would be cut every week. I spoke to the last contractor and he used a six man crew with 4 ZTRs and two trimmers going 14 hours a day for four days to complete the job. With all of that info, I estimated my expenses to be $32,000 and bid $54,600. The winning bid was for $21,500. I saw the winner at a lawn and garden show this weekend with his two sons of 14 to16 yrs old, trying to buy a new ZTR. I guess my question is how is this guy going to finish this project and still make a PROFIT? Even though he will be working his two sons, he has to pay them atleast minimum wage, which is $5.15 per hour. Can someone explain to me how this man is going to make it?

Employees: Estimate

Payroll: ___$14,000.00_____ (six men)
    Insurance: ____$1,355.36_____( workman comp)
    Uniforms: ____$1,152.00_____(t-shirts, caps)

Equipment

Equipment Loan ___$10,286.64_____(three new ZTRs)
    Repair Parts/Labor ____$3,984.00_____(belts, tires, blades, etc)
    Fuel ____$1,120.00_____($1.98/gal @ 1.8gal/hr)
    Insurance ______$526.15_____($2 million general liability)

Total Budget Expenses: ___$32,424.15_____

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

He probably won't...even with his teenagers working for him. Reading sh*t like this drives me nuts.

3. theturfsurfer

theturfsurfer LawnSite Member
    from mtka,MN