Dandelion issues

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Fine Lines, Apr 30, 2008.

1. Fine Lines

Fine Lines LawnSite Member

This time of year they are inevitable in a lot of yards just wondering if anyone else is having the same problems as me....
    Always seem to leave straglers of uncut dandelions when mowing and I'm slowing down,but still have em speckled throughout the yard either half cut or an occassional uncut one.I'm fairly new to doing this on a larger scale other than cutting my own yards and such,on my 2nd year,just curious if this is common or an issue that I'm just having.
    Keep the blades really sharp,actually just installed my 2nd new set and filed them a little sharper before installing and just finished a yard with the same results.They are high lifts,could this be the problem???
    It cuts the majority of em of course just not happy it leaving anything.
    Any other type of grass,weeds I've encountered it cuts beautiful with no problems and is striping great.
    Any ideas? And Thanks in advance.

2. tilawn

tilawn LawnSite Member

this a very common thing with those crappy dandelions. there isnt much youcan do about it unless you spray them with a broadleaf spray to kill them for good. it does seem like this year is worse than most others though

3. AWR

AWR LawnSite Member

Here In Nj It Got Hot Real Fast And Sooner Than Most Years , I 've Spraying Them With Trimec Starting Last Week And They Already Starting To Curl Up And Die

4. milkie62

milkie62 LawnSite Senior Member

Is Trimec a restricted product ???

5. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

Yes. Anything but straight fertilizer is restricted.

You can make sure the blade is sharpened as close to the center of the blade as you can get it. My blades are sharpened within about 2 inches of the center hole and stringy weeds like dandelion, onion and Bahia are not a problem.