De-Thatching Estimates

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DBM, Mar 1, 2001.

1. DBM

DBM LawnSite Member

Hi folks. I've been browsing through the forum for the last couple of weeks and I can't believe how valuable it's been for me. I'm new to this business and I'm starting on a part-time basis.
    I had placed an ad in the local paper yesterday and I've had several requests for power-raking. How long do you figure it will take me to complete the job on a standard 5000 square foot lawn? (I may have under bid on the one I had visited today as he jumped at my offer of $150.00 for a 5000 square foot lawn.)
    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Doug

2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

In our area that would be a high end proposal for 5m/sf.

A general rule of thumb for lots of the same size is this:
    If you find that people are jumping at your price, then you are too low;
    If they close the door in your face, then you are too high;
    If they want to haggle price then youre in the ballpark.

Good Luck!
    Kris

3. Mike Paulsen

Mike Paulsen LawnSite Member
    from Idaho

I would love to get that for 5000sqft.At one every hour to hour and half it would make for an good days wage.

4. AB Lawn Care

AB Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ontario

Good to see an other canadian on the forum.There is a small groupe of us on here now.Cantoo Cutntrim and more.I would say there is about 10-15 of us.Keep in touch!

5. DBM

DBM LawnSite Member

Guys, thanks for the help. I guess I'll keep my quotes in the same ballpark for the next couple of estimates. I'd be happy to make these kind of margins. If I get the next couple of bids I'll raise it a little. AB Lawn Care if you're still out there, are there any other Canadians in this forum from B.C.?

6. Twotoros

Twotoros LawnSite Senior Member