Dead zone .. new valve ... still dead

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by PLM-1, Apr 6, 2008.

1. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member

I am by no means an expert or full time irrigator, however, i can usually fix and install most systems.

This one has me stumped on my parents system, thank god it's there! There were a few zones not coming on so I rebuilt the valves. The number 4 zone which only feeds 3 heads still didn't work. I decided just to put a new valve in thinking that HAS to be the problem. There IS water to the valve as I can hear it when I turn the supply on 3 feet from it. I can open the bleed and water comes out as well as the solenoid. However, turning the valve on manually or with the controller yields a dead zone. With the valve manually open the water meter isn't running, so I don't believe there is a leak nor do any pools accumulate anywhere. The length from the valve to the first head is only about 20 feet. The only thing I can think of to cause this is that maybe the adapters are too tight blocking the exit on the valve. Any advice?
  2. ontheedge02

ontheedge02 LawnSite Member

You didn't by chance put the valve in backwards, or have the flow control turned off? Just simple stuff, but it's easy to overlook.

Good Luck
  3. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Remove the solenoid, and stick a marking flag down the vent port. If its a slip valve, you probably clogged it with glue.

If that doesn't work, open the output side and see if you get water, you could have a weird air bubble in the line messing with the diaphragm, or you could have a bad clog in the zone.
  4. Ferti-man

Ferti-man LawnSite Senior Member

Of course there is the off chance that there is an electrical issue. Wire at controller, controller malfunction, Need to verify 24 volts to solenoid. I like the backwards install, but since it did not work before, electrical should be considered.