Dealer or online for your parts?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by pjslawncare/landscap, Aug 8, 2005.

1. pjslawncare/landscap

pjslawncare/landscap LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been buying most my parts like blades, filters, tires & tubes, ect, ect online and been saving 60% to 80% and they are delivered in 2 to 3 days. How many of U buy from your dealer and how many buy online suppliers?

2. Keith

Keith LawnSite Gold Member

Lately I have been buying more online. We have on local guy, and he's a crook. He is charging 2-3x for blades vs. what the dealer 15 miles away is. But you have to go through the "never ending road construction project" if you go to that dealer though. I don't have 2+ hours and 6 gallons of gas to waste getting there. So you have a choice as far as local goes, overpay (greatly) at one dealer or waste a bunch of time going to another. So I have been doing mostly mail order for a few years now.

As far as the money saved, it isn't huge. The one dealer I spoke of is typically cheaper on blades, and not much higher on most other things. It is simply a matter of convenience rather than price.

3. splatz100

splatz100 LawnSite Senior Member

My dealer is excellent, the stock over $1 million in parts. I dont mind spending the extra buck to give them the business. Most parts are priced evenly but even if they arent I pay it.

4. smullen

smullen LawnSite Member

60-80%, WOW, who are you ordering from???

5. Wells

Wells LawnSite Member
    from SLC UT

I would also like to know where you are ordering online that you are saving 60-80%.
    If those numbers are truly accurate then I believe the dealer has seen the last of me.

6. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

I use my dealer solely...he deserves to make a living too.

7. The mayor

The mayor LawnSite Senior Member

My dealer. He treats me right and goes out of his way to keep stuff running. It's the least I can do.

8. splatz100

splatz100 LawnSite Senior Member