Dealing with boredom

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by Eho, Nov 8, 2005.

1. Eho

Eho LawnSite Member

Now that I'm finished for the year, I have nothing to do. I am a full time college student, but once my classes end in the morning, I dont have anything to do. What do you guys do in the off season to stay busy?

2. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic

Move where it's warm and cut some grass!

3. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member

I hear the sound of a mariner boat engine, the sound of fish bait splashing in the bucket, and the plopping sound of bait hitting the water waiting for a large crappie to inhale it, the sounds of birds singing in the crisp morning air, ahh nothing as relaxing as sitting on a lake or river with no phone, ZTR, trimmer, twins fighting, just absolute peace and quite! I enjoy some time off. If you were married and had kids you would ENJOY the h-ll out of having nothing to do (for a short time anyway).:D To answer your question, when the grass stops here, it comes to a dead standstill. I use this time for shrub trimming, repairing flower beds,and basically go on a 3 month vacation until spring. There is no such thing as snow here.

4. Lawn Masters

Lawn Masters LawnSite Senior Member

I like to spend that time fiddling with the cars I have here that need various bits of this and that repairs. rebuild things that got broke over the last few months, meditate, or just tinker with engine settings for more power.

5. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

zzzzzzz....
    zzzzzzzzzzzzz.....
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......

and work on my site :)

sometimes:
    clean house...
    fix a thing or two, cars or equipment...
    cook (or learn how) !!!! Cooking kix @zz thou it took me a few years...
    spend some money but watch it ! I like going to thrift stores and salvage barns, big lots is cool :)

6. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic