1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Dear Simplicity.....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Envy Lawn Service, Apr 10, 2004.

1. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Dear Simplicity,

I am a commercial operator. I do mainly use a commercial zero turn. But I feel a strong need to keep a lawn tractor style mower in my stables. They are good for tender lawns, tackling a slope after a surprise thunder storm and towing around attachments. My current one is well seasoned and will soon grow old and tired on me. So I will be looking for a replacement someday. When someday comes I would like for there to be an actual commercial grade lawn tractor available for me to purchase that has all the features I'm looking for.

Your current Prestige model has some of the features and it is a good starting point. I like the faster hydro trans-axle with differential lock, the power steering, striping roller and the body style. But there are some areas where it fall short of commercial grade. Since you own Ferris and they certainly know how to build them smooth and tuff, I would challenge you to call them in on this one. Challenge them to give your Prestige unit a true commercial grade tractor frame and have them design a deep, welded, commercial grade deck, with commercial spindles, 19,000 FPM blade tip speed, and similar in shape to your current deck so all the Simplicity goodies can still be added.