decision time...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by RLS24, Apr 21, 2008.

1. RLS24

RLS24 LawnSite Bronze Member

Ok, my original plan was to go to back to school in the fall and take some business classes, and then start off doing plowing in the winter, then hopefully turning some of those customers into lawn accounts and then get an early jump on advertising and such in the spring to get accounts as well and start my business that way. In the meantime (meaning from now until the end of fall), I was going to work for another lco to get some experience from a business standpoint (how day-to-day operations are run, estimating, bidding on jobs, etc).

Unfortunately, I have been trying to get a job for the past 2 months. I can;t even being to remember how many applications I have filled out or how many places I have called. No one will hire me because I have never worked for an lco before. I have pretty much used every kind of equipment that the average lco has, and done a ton of landscaping for family and friends over the years.
    A member on here who owns a fairly reputable and large company in the area said he would hire me, but he has been putting me off and putting me off for a few weeks now and won;t return my phone calls, so I don't know whats up with that and I have pretty much given up on it.

I'm running out of money to pay the basic bills (real fast!) and I am debating if I should try and get some accounts and start my business NOW for the simple fact that no one else will hire me, and I need some work. Do you guys think its too late to start trying to find accounts? I see most places are doing cleanups still and a few are just starting to mow, so I'm not sure if it's too late or not? I'm kind of running out of options here...

2. DrGreenThumb

DrGreenThumb LawnSite Member

Im gonna tell you its tough to get started, I would do it on the side right now and as time comes you'll get going.

3. ezgoer1969

ezgoer1969 LawnSite Member