1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Deck tool. Am I the only one???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TLS, Jun 25, 2002.

1. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

A post in the Exmark section got my gears turning enough to fire up the haf broken digital camera the other day and snap a pic of something that I thought everybody uses to check deck cut height.

Turns out, many still use a ruler or tape measure :eek: to level your deck.

I've been using one like this since at least 1990. The original one has a shorter arm and will not reach all blade positions on the Lazer with the striping roller, so I bought this one with the longer arm. My first original one was purchased at my JD dealership, the second at my DC/Exmark dealership.

My dealer mechanic had one that is stainless steel and has engraved measurements, no name on his or even on this one. I would worry about the metal one bending if I ran over it or burried it in my tool box. The plastic is great and is virtually indestructable. They cost about 10 - 12 bucks, but are so handy that I'd spend up to $30 if I didn't have one.

No signs of any in any "mailorder" catalogs.
  2. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

Sorry :D

Forgot to attach pic!!!

blade height tool.jpg
  3. AltaLawnCare

AltaLawnCare LawnSite Senior Member

Calm down, Tommy....:D

There are (at least) two people in the whole world using them.

I got the little yellow John Deere plastic one.

4. weve

weve LawnSite Senior Member
    Male, from Central Illinois

I've been using my John Deere model for quite a few years. Much better than a tape measure.
  5. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

I have the John Deere version also.
  6. lahanko

lahanko LawnSite Member
    from NY

Can these be gotten off of the Internet?
  7. 1stclasslawns

1stclasslawns LawnSite Senior Member