Deere vs Exmark vs Hustler vs Scag vs ...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by captain2morrow, Jun 10, 2006.

1. captain2morrow

captain2morrow LawnSite Member

I am a newbie looking to get my first ZTR tractor. Need a 60" deck. Been reading several of the posts on equipment and am getting more confused! I was first thinking of an Exmark Lazer Z until I read about cutting quality problems (Triton decks?) and dealer apathy. Then was considering a Deere 757 or 777 but price could be a problem (local dealer has bad rep). So looked at Hustler Z but then read about cut quality issues, although it sounds like Hustler got right on it! Don't know much about Scag but have seen some in this area. I know there are several others as well, so even more confused.

I don't mind paying a FAIR price, but demand great cut quality and dependability. I guess the question to ask you more experienced guys is:
    If you were to do it over again, what would you buy?:confused:

2. p7m8hk

p7m8hk LawnSite Member

These are the best prices I could find....

06 JD 757 60" deck $7650.00 (I just bought one)

06 Hustler 60" deck (25hp) $7950.00

Scag Wildcat 61" deck $7995.00

Exmark (no information)

Hope this helps

Clete

3. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member

I would choose the same mowers we have now.. CUB TANKS/LESCO !!!!!!! They will hold up as long as any other mower on the market.:cool2: :cool2:

4. East Coast Lawn Choppers

East Coast Lawn Choppers LawnSite Member

We have all scags, only ever had one problem and that was a spring on the deck broke at 3 hrs. running. The dealer said he has never seen that spring ever break and he took one off a new mower on the floor and put on it so we could get right back out... Our oldest one has 2400 hrs. and is a back-up but still runs and operates like the day it was new. I think if you take care of and maintain properly they are all good, but we like to stick with one brand.
    Good Luck...

5. cwlawley