Definition of Lowballer?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MOturkey, Mar 29, 2004.

1. MOturkey

MOturkey LawnSite Silver Member

I'm new to this business, as you all know, and I immediately noticed the continuous references to lowballers and scrubs. I assumed I knew what a lowballer was, but am beginning to think perhaps it is a different thing to different people.

I've read of many different pricing strategies and structures on here, and it seems most come up with the same basic premise:Know your costs and charge accordingly to assure a decent profit for your efforts.

Now, as an example, I often here the "dollar a minute" thing kicked around. I haven't run my business long enough to know my actual costs, but I'm working on a ballpark figure of $10 per hour for operating my mower. I extrapolate this to trimming, etc, figuring the actual lower costs will cover most of my expenses involved in actually getting to and from the properties. Based on that assumption, I'm quite comfortable with an average of $30 to $35 an hour, because that is more per hour than I have ever earned on a regular job.

Now, as my business grows, I suspect my goals will be higher, and I hope to eventually be at a point where I can turn away business and not feel badly about it. That point hasn't been reached yet, and from the number of people new to the busines, I suspect many of them are not at that point either. I also suspect the area of the country has a lot to do with it. I am not in a high income area, and if I stuck to say, a dollar a minute figure, I suspect I'd be doing a lot of thumb twiddling this summer. The one LCO I am friends with locally, does charge the dollar a minute average, but that is for two people, or guess what, still $30 per man hour, which would make my one-man operation right in line.