degree or no degree?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Turf Professionals Inc., Jul 20, 2007.

1. Turf Professionals Inc.

Turf Professionals Inc. LawnSite Member

I was wondering if anyone in this field that has like a Horticultural or Botany degree. I own my own company (obviously) and I am about to transfer to the University of Florida. I am seriously considering a degree in Landscape Architecture or Landscape Horticulture. Any insight fellas?

Thanks
    Matthew, Owner Turf Professionals, Inc.

2. MILSINC

MILSINC LawnSite Member

I got an Associates in in Plant Science, and a Certificate in Landscape/Turf Operations. It elevated me above my competition as far as plant/disease knowledge, but failed me as far as working in the industry. I need a business degree more than I need this.

3. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

I have a degree from UF in Evironmental Hort with a specialty in turfgrass...in 95

http://hort.ufl.edu/

Well worth it.... and since you a reinstate its pretty cheap. The Hort facilities are very nice and very up do date, at least at the time they were.

Botany won't do you much good in the landscape side of things, and although the money is good for being a LA, nothing ever really interested in that field where i wanted to do it full time. If you own your own company you can still design landscapes

You can get a Degree in ENH and get a minor is Business or LA....

I got my AA then transfered into UF after I change majors at another school.

Santa Fe Community College in G-vill has a great two year hort program. you could consider doing that then transferring in to a BS degree as well as a AS from Santa Fe...

if you want, give me call 202 345 7679 and I talk about everything Ive done Business and employment wise since leaving.

I'll be on vacation for two weeks down in tampa starting tomorrow but the phone is always on... but I may not be able to check my email as frequently (since I'll be on dialup)

4. turf hokie