Depressed (need advice)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ChadsLawn, Apr 30, 2001.

1. ChadsLawn

ChadsLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

This has not been a very good year for me at all.Over this past winter i lost about 8 accounts(i dont have alot to begin with),Just today i lost a church which ive been mowing for 3 years,to someone who underbid me.
    Over the past 2 weeks i have passed out over 500 flyers and have yet to get a phone call from any.Today i dressed very professionaly and went door knocking.Guess how many i got.ZERO. Not even a bid.
    This is getting very depressing because I have alot of bills and im just barley getting buy.
    All advice is needed

I do good work.I have a few pics posted on my web site.

Thanks
    Chad

2. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member

Man I lost a church over the winter too due to them being in financial distress. That really hurt the wallet. I did a post about saturation and this is probably what you are suffering from. Its just not a good time to start a lawncare biz in some areas of the country. I would advise find some other type of work and maybe keep this parttime for now. Dont waite til u get behind in the bills. The season is well underway in fla and here

3. ChadsLawn

ChadsLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been in this business since 1995,Full time since 1998.

4. dhicks

dhicks Member

I have no idea about the competition where you live, but I think one of the Florida guys gave up the lawncare business a few weeks ago because of the same reasons, e.g., underbidding by the competition and too many LCOs in his area.

I'd like to tell you to buck up and hang tough but that alone will not put beans and cornbread on the table. Perhaps it is time to expand your horizions and get a job with steady income until your lawncare co. begins to thrive.