1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Designers vs Mowers aka cool looking vs reality

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Grn Mtn, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn LawnSite Senior Member

What is it with designers? Have they ever tried to mow one of their designs? So many times I come across professionally done landscapes and the guys mowing just blast grass all over the beds, or have to bag/mulch because the landscape looks like a pretzel.

Now I'm a designer, but I was mowing before I was designing, so everything I do I first look at the maintenance end of it to see if it is realistic. Is this concept foreign to most designers?

On the other end, as the maintenance crew, are you that lazy that blowing grass into the street and all over the beds is acceptable:nono: at the very least try to blow the grass back out of the beds.
  2. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

A very common dilemma.

And yes some of us maintenance guys are just that lazy.

And so are some of the designers.

But in all fairness to the designers, sometimes the geniuses at planning and zoning make it impossible to do the right thing. Silly requirements like minimum 5 pine trees, or the only acceptable hedge is a podocarpus.
    I am planning on converting a house into a commercial property to use as my shop and I have to landscape a 10ft setback from my property line on all 4 sides. So out of the 12000 sq feet of the propery I lose 3500 to "beautification" and despite the fact that 2 sides butt against other properties. But the killer is I HAVE to plant certain shrubs from an approved list. Ok no problem, except the list is 4 plants long. All 4 are green leaf only and grow like the dickens and are huge water hogs.