1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

devoid of nitrogen

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by bobbygedd, Apr 10, 2005.

1. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ

i've been doing this property for a few years. the back yard is causing me fits. it looks good, and bad, then good, then bad. i've been fertilizing with the standard 4 lbs per k per season. i took a soil test. it came up completely lacking nitrogen. hard clay soil. can anyone tell me how this happened?
  2. Mark McC

Mark McC LawnSite Bronze Member

I've spent the past ten or fifteen minutes trying to find something on the Web about nitrogen turnover in soil, and have come up empty. The soil here in VA is a lot like what you described, orange clay, so it's a good topic for me to understand.

A couple of questions occur to me. One is about the shape of this part of your customer's yard. Does water puddle in it? If so, could that lead to nitrogen loss? It also occurs to me that maybe there is a bacterium out there that eats nitrogen, but that's speculative.

Are you using fertilizer with a decent blend of soluble/insoluble nitrogen?
  3. naturescaretaker

naturescaretaker LawnSite Senior Member

Bobby, trying buying your fertilizer from Walmart rather then the flea market. Those good ole boys who mix your stuff up from the trash cans may not get the right constancy every time. When you go pro then step up to Lesco or John Deere Landscapes for your chemicals. :p
  4. wally world III

wally world III LawnSite Member

i would put down the following.............
    20-10-10 for 5 treatments.............. including winterizer

then, i would do soil test kit...... from penn state.........

ps: you can purchase this stuff from your feed mill.......
    fert ~~ $ 7.25 / bag when purchased by the ton